What’s been cooking…

Happy Tuesday everyone! I am in 7th heaven over here because it is raining and nothing makes me happier than rain after so many dry days!  I want to curl up by the fire and read a good book, I don’t think that will happen but a girl can dream!  There has been lots of cooking going on here so I have an abundance of recipes to share.  I will post my Superbowl snacks today and do a follow up recipe later tonight or tomorrow with a delicious chicken chili recipe and a low calorie coffee cake!  Clearly I have been spending some time in the kitchen!

Sunday’s Superbowl snacks were delicious and fairly easy to make.

Pizza Rolls Ups

-1 can of reduced fat crescent rolls

-turkey pepperoni

-string cheese

-marinara sauce (optional)

-ranch (optional for dipping)

*Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees

*Unroll each triangle of dough, spread 1 tbsp of marinara, and starting at the top of triangle place 6 slices of pepperoni, top with half a stick of string cheese and roll up.  Place on baking sheet and repeat with other rolls.  Cook about 15 minutes until rolls are golden.

*serve with ranch or marinara for dipping

Sweet Potato Cheesy Crisps

2 sweet potatoes

1 cup of parmesan cheese

1/w tsp rosemary

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 cup liquid egg whites

*shred potatoes and drain.  The more you drain the liquid the crispier they will turn out.  Combine potatoes with cheese and seasonings.  Spray a wire rack and place on top of baking sheet.  Spoon potato mixture and press flat on the rack.  Cook potatoes at 450 degrees for about 25-30 minutes until crispy!

Chocolate Cookies with Chocolate Cream Filling

These cookies are for the true chocolate lover, as I am writing this I wish I was home and eating one.  Make these maybe once a year to fulfill your chocolate needs for that year.  I did not make any changes to the recipe and they turned out fabulous!

The recipe is from one of my favorite blogs Can You Stay For Dinner?  Here is her recipe

Hiking

Yesterday my husband and I hiked in Upper Bidwell Park.  Upper park is more rough roads and hiking, swimming holes and not  the easiest access in some spots.  Lower Park has a paved road, outdoor pool, easy access.  We hiked for about 30-40 minutes, it was fun and a nice way to get some exercise while chatting and enjoy the views!  If you ever find yourself in Chico and want to hike in Upper Park my advice is stay on the trail or you may slip, fall, and have your arm break out in hives because you are apparently allergic to whatever plant you fell on.  (I am okay mom, don’t worry).

The beauty of the park definitely made the hives worth it :)  Do you still need a workout today?  Join me in this workout!


Leave a Reply

