Tomato Sauce

Now that I have an actual home and a beautiful kitchen I love spending time in there preparing meals.  When you live in an apartment with a small kitchen cooking is just not the same, it is easier to just use a jar of tomato sauce then make your own.  When my husband and I got married we bought a home and I am so glad we did because cooking is a blast in my kitchen!

Take today for example, it is a beautiful Saturday, the sun is shining and I wanted to spend some time in the kitchen and prepare my tomato sauce for our raviolis this week.  Any time I can prepare part of a meal ahead of time I do!  This tomato sauce is rich, sweet, and delicious.  I love it, it goes perfect with a bowl of pasta or layered in lasagna.  I highly recommend making a large batch of it to store some in the freezer. The recipe I use is a marinara sauce but I add either Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage or Spicy Italian Chicken Sausage.

Recipe

Adapted from CanYouStayForDinner

3-4 Sweet or Spicy Italian Chicken Sausage

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

half a medium onion (chopped)

3 cloves of garlic

1 can tomato paste

1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes

1 tbsp dried oregano

3 tbsp sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

Remove the casing from sausage and saute and crumble sausage in saute pan until cooked through.

In a large pot heat 2 tbsp olive oil and add garlic and onion. Saute until they are cooked and very soft, the longer you cook them the better the taste.

Add in the sausage and then add 1 small can of tomato paste and stir, then add the crushed tomatoes

Add in the salt, pepper, oregano and sugar.  I swear by adding the sugar, it makes the sauce sweet and so delicious, trust me on this one. Bring the sauce to a light boil and then reduce heat, cover and simmer for at least a half hour.  This makes about 4 cups of sauce.  Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

