The Center of Attention

I have been doing some reading on vegetables and how we construct our meals.  I know I know, I read really interesting things.  What I have read is basically this, we are completely mistaken by the way we form our meals and what we focus on within those meals.  Our main dish or entree typically is the steak, chicken, lasagna, ravioli, etc.  On the side we have our small helping of typically one vegetable.  What we should be doing is having the vegetables and fruits be our main dish with things like meat or pasta as more of a small side dish.  It can be hard to get in this mentality because we are programmed otherwise, I mean when was the last time you went to a restaurant that offered vegetables as a main dish and you could order a side of chicken? This doesn’t mean we need to stop making those delicious “main” dishes but it does mean we need to make the fruits and veggies the center of our attention.

My advice for making this happen is to cut down on how much of our main dish we are making, instead of cooking one whole chicken breast per person cut it in half and fill in that extra space on your plate with your favorite veggie!  Something that really helps me get veggies at each meal (especially breakfast & lunch) is to make ALOT of it with dinner, then it is done and ready for you to throw it in your morning eggs or lunch salad.

In that spirit, here is my favorite way to have broccoli, I kid you not I eat this stuff like candy.

Roasted Broccoli

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Cut the crowns off of 2-3 heads of broccoli

Place on a large baking sheat and toss with 1-2 tbsp olive oil and 1/2 to 1 tsp salt

Roast for 15-20 minutes, tossing them around halfway through, until edges of broccoli are crispy light brown!

ENJOY!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment