A Day of no Cooking!

I would say that 99% of the time I cook every single meal of every single day.  We are pretty good about not eating out a lot so we go out to lunch on average once a week.  Dinner is almost always at home unless we are with family.  I love to cook and create meals, I really do, but at the same time days like today are nice when I did not have to prepare any of my meals and I only did dishes for one meal 🙂 I spent the day visiting some family in the Sacramento area and enjoyed some delicious meals!

Breakfast today was at the delicious Cafe Bernardo in Midtown Sacramento.  I met my wonderful and beautiful friend Michelle and we both ordered the Chicken Sausage Scramble. It was very tasty and I so enjoyed getting to spend some quality time with my friend 🙂  The toast came with blackberry jam and I am not normally a jam on toast kind of girl, I remember my grandma always put jam on her toast and I never tried it!  Today I did and I really liked it, I may have started a new trend for my toast.

Photo Courtesy of Sacramento Magazine

I then met my parents for a later lunch at The Habit.  The Habit is a hamburger place that serves burgers, sandwiches, salads, etc.  Their burgers are very tasty and I enjoyed a yummy cheeseburger and split sweet potato fries with my mom.  I am gonna say today was a “cheat day”.

Dinner was enjoyed with my parents and brother and we had fresh dungeness crab!  I love fresh crab and I had not had it in a really long time.  I am pretty sure I ate my body weight in crab.

Between eating two meals out and another big one with family I feel very full and like I really hope there is a break in rain tomorrow for me to go running!   Days like today feel so good because I did not stress out about what I was eating and just enjoyed the moment and didn’t worry about not getting a work out in.  I am so glad I am at the point where I can realize one day of no exercise and lots of food does not mean I will gain 10 pounds!

Tonight I am snug at my parents house.  My original plan was to leave super early in order to meet my husband at home when he gets off of work.  But poor guy just called and somebody went home sick so he is stuck there til Monday morning 😦  Four nights of no husband can get pretty rough so I am glad I am with family tonight and tomorrow to pass the time faster.  I will head to church with my family and then leave after lunch to get back home and ready for the work week!

 

Leave a comment