Weekend Review

Okay, so you may have determined by now I am slightly cuckoo for my family.  What can I say?  They have my heart.  We are a slightly crazy bunch but if you neeed a family come on over, we always think the more the merrier.  I will warn you we are loud, probably very politically incorrect, the kids run around and get into indoor ice fights in February,

we talk a lot, debate a lot but man oh man do we love each other a lot too!  They have been hands down the most supportive people throughout my weight loss.  I love them all with every ounce of me and could not do what I have done without them.

We had a family dinner this past weekend and the food did not disappoint.  I think I am still full from it.  So get ready for some pictures and recipes!!  The theme was Spanish focused around a main dish of Paella, my mom makes the best Paella.  Paella is a Spanish dish of rice and seafood, chicken and sausage.  My brother Matt said it was so good that if he is ever on death row and gets to chose his last meal this just may be it 🙂  That is how much my family enjoys good food, we dream about our last meal before we die.

Appetizers:

Assorted Olives from Whole Foods

Vegetables and Dip

Stuffed Peppers with a Spanish Ailoi  We could not find the peppers it called for so we just got a large bag at Costco of these beauties and stuffed them with pepper jack cheese.  They were a huge hit so I recommend trying them as I did them.  (I also added more cheese than the recipe called for of course)  The ailoi is a MUST!

Side Dishes:

Anitpasti Salad by my brother Eric & his wife Amber

Chickpea Salad by my mom. 

Recipe:

Combine 2 15 oz cans chickpeas (drained) with 1/2 cup chopped onion.

With food processor running add 2 garlic gloves and mince, add 1 – 2 oz. can anchovies (drained), 1 hard boiled egg (shelled and quartered), 1/4 cup Sherry Wine Vinegar, 2 tbsp dijon mustard, 2 tbsp lemon juice, and puree.  Add 1 tsp dried thyme, 1 tsp ground bay leaves, 1 cup minced fresh parsley and 1/3 cup olive oil and continue until combined.  Pour over chickpeas, toss and serve!

Orange Salad by mom.. Simply oranges and pink oranges with onions and a touch of olive oil drizzled on top.

Main Dish

Paella to die for by mom.  Recipe was a combination of here and here

Dessert:

White and Dark Chocolate Bread Pudding with Irish Cream Sauce 

Frozen Peanut Butter Pie  My mom added mini chocolate chips and that was a good idea!  This pie was amazing.

And for one last picture:

I think he thought I was trying to steal his SECOND piece of dessert 🙂

Menu For the Week

Here are a few things I am cooking this week:

Taco Salad

Homemade Marina sauce with Spicy Italian Chicken Sausage Sandwiches

Marinara with tortellini

Pulled Pork Salads or Sandwiches (I have not decided which yet!)

One thought on “Weekend Review

Leave a comment