Make Your Own

How are we already back to Monday?  I really could have used one more day this weekend.  On Saturday we were able to get stuff done and also relax.  This week the stomach bug seems to running rampant at work so I am hoping and praying it does not get into my system.

For dinner Saturday I made a chicken, turkey bacon, tomato, green onion pizza.  It was delicious and really easy.  We had some whole wheat pizza dough in the freezer so we  used that, I call this recipe our “Dating Pizza” because Aaron and I used to make it a lot together when we were dating.  I have some great memories in my little 1 bedroom apartment of us chopping tomatoes and onions and watching our favorite shows while eating this yummy pizza on my grandma’s old t.v. trays that are mine now 🙂

Dating Pizza

2 boneless & skinless chicken breasts (I cut it into bite size pieces, season with basil and garlic powder then saute it)

5 slices of turkey bacon cooked and chopped

4 green onions sliced

2 tomatoes chopped

1 cup of mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup sauce (recipe I use is fat free ranch dressing mixed with 4 pressed garlic cloves)

Combine all this on your pizza, season with Parmesan and dried basil and cook for about 20 minutes

Simple and delicious!

On Sunday we spent about 5 hours asking for donations on the street, no we are not homeless now but we helped out at the Fill the Boot Drive with the fire department.  It is such a great cause (money goes to help burn victims) and we had fun!  That night we celebrated my mother-in-law’s birthday at Hula’s a Chinese restaurant in town.

Today it is work work work and chicken & avocado sandwiches for dinner in between meetings!

I worked out M-F last week so I took the weekend off, we still went for walks and standing on the street for 5.5 hours yesterday I am sure burned some calories, also dodging in and out of traffic to get donations probably burned some calories and probably would have given my mom a heart attack 🙂

Make Your Own!

I have been craving salty and sweet combos lately, and the idea of trail mix popped in my head.  However when I checked out the price at the store I was not thrilled to spend so much.  So I decided to check out the bulk prices of peanuts, cashews, raisins, and dark chocolate chips at Winco and sure enough they were very reasonable.  I bagged some up and now am enjoying a homemade trail mix snack.

I like the idea of making my own because I can change from the typical peanuts, almonds, m&m’s, and raisins that the stores sell and add in what sounds good.  I also like substituting dark chocolate chips for the m&m’s 🙂  I had no idea Winco sold them in bulk and for a much more reasonable price than the bagged.  I really browsed through the bulk section and got many more ideas for future snacks that I can create for a cheaper price!

 

Leave a comment