Weighing In

Do you judge your weight by the actual number?

Or how you actually feel and how your clothes fit?

 

Some people do not know specifically how much they weigh, while others (like myself) weigh ourselves all the time trying to hit some magical number or maintain the number we love.  Our weight is such a personal number, we lie about it, forget about it, deny about it.  At times I wish I did not know what I weighed but instead went by how I feel.  I like what some people do and judge their health by how their clothes fit, how much energy they have, basically their overall health.

Now as much as I like that idea, it is far too unorganized for me.  I like to have numbers and goals and specifics.  When I began to lose weight I weighed myself way too much, I obsessed every single day if my weight went up even half a pound.  Over time I learned to weigh myself once a week and make sure that it was the same time of day each week.  Our body weight fluctuates by a few pounds throughout the day and so weighing in every single day or throughout the day is simply misleading.

My advice with your weight is this, figure out what works for you.  Does judging by how your clothes fit hold you accountable?  If your pants feel tight does that motivate you to get back in the swing of healthy eating?  If so that is great, this method works for you.  But if you are like me then having a number and a plan is the way to go. Weigh in once a week, keep a log of your numbers, and set a goal weight by a certain date.  Keep in mind that 2 pounds a week is considered the healthy number to lose weight and maintain the weight loss.  Remember that slow and steady wins the race.

Dinner Last Night

Last night’s dinner was me just throwing some ingredients together and hoping for the best.  I began by roasting some broccoli .  Then I heated 1 tbsp of olive oil and sauteed garlic, onions, bell pepper and green beans for 15 minutes.  I then cut up some jalapeno chicken sausage from Trader Joe’s and threw it in the mix.  I added the broccoli

and I added this all on top of a bed of this:

and sprinkled it with feta cheese.  The final photos did not really turn out but it was a nice and healthy dinner.  I served it along with a spinach salad topped with avocado, cheese, and homemade croutons.  I would recommend this Harvest Grains blend from Trader Joe’s if you like Couscous, Quinoa and Orzo!  The only change I would have made to this dish was added some kind of sauce to it but no sauce =healthier but I am thinking some kind of Mediterranean style sauce would be delicious 🙂

One thought on “Weighing In

Leave a comment